Robbery is any act of theft that includes the use of violence or the threat of violence. If you or someone you know is facing a robbery charge contact the law office of the Stockton criminal attorney as soon as possible.

Because robbery is a violent crime, it is automatically considered a felony in the state of California. Under state law, robbery is punished differently from theft crimes because they involve an assault on another person. Remember that the legal definition of assault includes the threat of violence; assault does not have to be physical.

If a person enters a store and threatens the man behind the counter, they will be charged with robbery rather than just theft.

There are two types of robbery recognized by California state law: first-degree robbery and second-degree robbery. First-degree robbery is any robbery committed within a “dwelling, vessel, or trailer.” (California Penal Code Section 212.5 (a)) Second-degree robbery is any other form of robbery.

The punishment for a robbery conviction depends on the degree of robbery and the offender’s criminal history. A first-degree robbery conviction could result in to 9 years in state prison while second degree robbery may receive anywhere from 2 to 5 years in prison. If a weapon was used during the crime, the charges will be bumped up to armed robbery.

If you are facing a robbery charge, contact the law office of the Stockton criminal attorney for an immediate consultation.